Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

A can of worms...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
No Posts
No Posts

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote Penthesilea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A can of worms...
    Posted: 06 September 2002 at 12:00am
I’m a newbie but my check should be in Boulder by now so I’m gonna risk opening a can of worms.  Right now I have two tabs open on my browser. One is set to IFGS -- obviously -- and the other is set to the NERO site. Comparing the list of NERO chapters to the list of IFGS chapters, it looks like NERO is the more successful organization. Whether or not it is more successful is open to debate. The point is, to the person who may be looking for a LARP organization to join they look more successful. Since people tend to go with success whenever possible, they will go with NERO. They might not even look closely at IFGS. I know that the fact that NERO has an Indiana chapter listed caught my interest. I went with IFGS because I bought the V. 6.8 rule book years ago and enjoyed it. If I hadn’t already been familiar with the IFGS, I probably would have contacted NERO which brings me to the “wormy” questions.

What are the NERO people doing that the IFGS isn’t?

What can we, the IFGS, do to counter their apparent advantage?

And the real “wormy” question. The IFGS is not for profit. NERO is for profit as near as I can tell. If that is what makes all the difference, should the IFGS change its status in order to compete? And if it does, how would we go about it?

That should be enough to get the discussion “ball” rolling.

Edited by Penthesilea - 07 September 2007 at 10:40am
DarkLady
Malrubius View Drop Down
IFGS Forum Member
IFGS Forum Member

Jonas Bailey

Post Options Post Options   Quote Malrubius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 September 2002 at 12:00am
I'll go....